هناك أنواع مختلفة من تأشيرات الهجرة للولايات المتحدة، واحدة منها هي فئة تأشيرة الأقارب المباشرين. وفئاتها هي:

 

 

الأقارب المباشرين هم فقط الأزواج، الأطفال البيولوجية أو المتبنون والآباء. الأجداد أو الأعمام أو العمات يُعتبرون بالفعل عائلة ممتدة وبالتالي لا يُعتبرون ضمن الأقارب المباشرين.

 

ستغطي هذه المقالة تأشيرة IR-4 للولايات المتحدة، ما هي، المتطلبات، عملية طلب التأشيرة وغيرها من التفاصيل الأساسية الآخرى.

 

ما هي تأشيرة IR-4 للولايات المتحدة؟

 

يمكن أن يكون المواطن الأمريكي قادرًا على تبني طفل من أي بلد خارجية، ولكي يقوم بذلك، يجب أن يكون للطفل تأشيرة هجرة للولايات المتحدة صالحة، حتى يستطيع الإقامة في الولايات المتحدة مع والديه بالتبني. يوجد لتأشيرات الهجرة الأمريكية عدة أنواع، والتي ستمكن المواطن الأمريكي من التبني، وأهمها تأشيرات IR-4 و IR-3 للولايات المتحدة.

 

تمكّن تأشيرة IR-4 للولايات المتحدة الآباء من أخذ حضانة الطفل في بلد آخر، ونقل الطفل إلى الولايات المتحدة لإنهاء عملية التبني، بينما تسمح تأشيرة IR-3 للولايات المتحدة للآباء من الولايات المتحدة باستكمال عملية التبني في بلد مختلف قبل أن يتمكن الطفل من الحصول على تأشيرة دخول إلى الولايات المتحدة.

 

مزايا الحصول على تأشيرة IR-4 للولايات المتحدة:

 

  • يسمح للوالدين بأخذ الطفل إلى الولايات المتحدة بالتبني الكامل
  • يمكن للطفل أن يستقر في الولايات المتحدة بشكل قانوني
  • يمكن للطفل الإلتحاق بالمدرسة وعندما يستطيع، يمكنه البدء في العمل دون الحاجة إلى وثيقة ترخيص العمل (EAD). عندما يكون الطفل مؤهلاً، يمكنه أيضًا تقديم طلب للحصول على الجنسية الأمريكية.

 

بشكل عام، تُعد تأشيرات IR-4 للولايات المتحدة مناسبة أكثر، نظرًا لأن أولئك الذين تقدموا بطلبات، يمكنهم إكمال العملية بشكل أسرع، حيث ليس لديهم حد سنوي على عدد تأشيرات الولايات المتحدة التي يتم منحها.

 

كيف يتأهل الفرد للحصول على تأشيرة IR-4 للولايات المتحدة؟

 

في الولايات المتحدة، تنقسم عمليات التبني من الدول الآخرى إلى نوعين يعتمدان على الزمن الذي تم تبني الطفل فيه. فئتين (2) التبني هما:

 

  • تبني من دولة خارج اتفاقية لاهاي
  • تبني من دولة ضمن اتفاقية لاهاي

 

تم عمل اتفاقية لاهاي في عام 1993، ودخلت حيز التنفيذ في عام 1995، مع قواعد ولوائح محددة حول التبني بين البلدان، لحماية الأطفال في عمليات التبني الدولية.

 

قد تتغير إجراءات التقديم اعتمادًا على ما إذا كان المواطن الأمريكي يتبنى الطفل من بلد ضمن اتفاقية لاهاي أو بلد خارج اتفاقية لاهاي.

 

تم التوقيع على المعاهدة من قبل 88 دولة في جميع أنحاء العالم، بما في ذلك الولايات المتحدة في عام 2008. وعلى الرغم من أنها قد تنطبق على بعض البلدان، يرجى ملاحظة أنه لا تزال هناك دول تحظر عمليات التبني بين البلدان لأسباب سياسية كما هو محدد من قبل البلدان بالخط العريض.

 

دول اتفاقية لاهاي
ألبانيا كوت ديفوار هايتي المكسيك سيشيل
أندورا كوستا ريكا المجر مولدوفا سلوفاكيا
أرمينيا كرواتيا آيسلندا موناكو سلوفينيا
أستراليا كوبا الهند منغوليا جنوب أفريقيا
النمسا قبرص أيرلندا مونتينجرو إسبانيا
أذربيجان جمهورية التشيك إسرائيل ناميبيا سيريلانكا
روسيا البيضاء الدنمارك إيطاليا هولندا سوازيلاند
بلجيكا جمهورية الدومينيكان كازاخستان نيوزيلاندا السويد
بليز الإكوادور كينيا النرويج سويسرا
بوليفيا السلفادور قرغيزستان بنما تايلاند
البرازيل إستونيا لاتفيا باراغواي توغو
بلغاريا فيجي ليسوتو بيرو تركيا
بوركينا فاسو فنلندا ليختنشتاين الفلبين المملكة المتحدة
بوروندي فرنسا ليتوانيا بولندا أوروغواي
كمبوديا جورجيا لوكسمبورغ البرتغال فنزويلا
كندا ألمانيا مقدونيا رومانيا فيتنام
كاب فيردي غانا مدغشقر رواندا زامبيا
تشيلي اليونان مالي سان مارينو
الصين غواتيمالا مالطا السنغال
كولومبيا غينيا موريشيوس صربيا

 

 

عمليات التبني من أي دولة أخرى غير تلك المدرجة في اتفاقية لاهاي، تعني أن المواطن الأمريكي يتبنى خارج نطاق القوانين وسيتم تطبيق المراسيم الآخرى وإجراءات التقديم فقط على عمليات التبني في بلدان خارج اتفاقية لاهاي.

 

ما هي ضرورات الحصول على تأشيرة IR-4 للولايات المتحدة؟

 

للتأهل للحصول على تأشيرة IR-4 للولايات المتحدة، يجب أن تفي بالمتطلبات المحددة لكلاً من الطفل من البلد الخارجي الذي يتم تبنيه والآباء بالتبني من مواطني الولايات المتحدة. هذه المتطلبات، هي كما يلي:

 

  • يجب أن يستوفي الطفل إرشادات التبني الصادرة عن قانون الهجرة والجنسية الأمريكي (INA)
  • يجب أن يكون عمر الطفل أقل من 21 وغير متزوج
  • يجب أن يكون الطفل من دول اتفاقية لاهاي أو غير اتفاقية لاهاي
  • يجب أن يكون مواطنو الولايات المتحدة مسؤولين عن الحصول على حضانة أو وصاية الطفل في بلد أجنبي ومن ثم التبني في الولايات المتحدة
  • المواطنون الأمريكيون يعتزمون إحضار الطفل المُتبنى إلى الولايات المتحدة للإقامة معهم
  • يجب على مواطني الولايات المتحدة اجتياز اختبار الأهلية من قبل خدمات المواطنة والهجرة الأمريكية (USCIS)
  • يجب أن يكون لدى مواطني الولايات المتحدة عنوان أو إقامة أمريكية صالحة

 

إذا كان المواطنون الأمريكيون يخططون لتبني طفل أثناء وجودهم في بلد أجنبي، فيجب عليهم التقدم بطلب للحصول على تأشيرة IR-3. أخيرًا، إذا قام مواطنون أمريكيون برعاية الطفل وأقاموا في بلد أجنبي مع الطفل لمدة عامين على الأقل، فإنهم مؤهلون للتقدم بطلب للحصول على تأشيرة IR-2.

 

إجراءات الطلب لدول اتفاقية لاهاي والدول خارج لاهاي.

 

نظرًا لأن عمليات التبني بين البلدان في الولايات المتحدة تنقسم إلى فئتين أو تنقسم إلى فئتين بالنسبة لتأشيرة IR-4 الأمريكية، يجب على المرء أن يأخذ في الاعتبار أن هناك أيضًا إجراءين مختلفين يجب اتباعهما لضمان الإرشادات المناسبة.

 

إجراءات الطلب من بلد ضمن اتفاقية لاهاي

 

البرنامج

 

سيحتاج المواطن الأمريكي إلى إختيار مزود خدمة تبني معتمد للتبني من دول اتفاقية لاهاي.

 

  1. أولًا، يحتاج المواطن إلى تقديم نموذج طلب تحديد مدى ملاءمة تبني طفل من دولة الاتفاقية أو المعروف قريبًا باسم "نموذج I-800A". ستقوم USCIS بالتحقق من النموذج المُقدم من خلال إجراء فحص الخلفية، وبصمات الأصابع والدراسة المنزلية. ستحدد النتائج بعد ذلك عدد الأطفال الذين يُسمح للمواطن بتبنيهم، بما في ذلك نطاق الأعمار المحددة الموصى بالتبني. بالإضافة إلى الفئة العمرية وعدد الأطفال المحدد للتبني، سيحدد النموذج أيضًا ما إذا كان يُسمح للمواطن بتبني طفل ذي احتياجات خاصة. بمجرد الموافقة على النموذج، فإن هذا سيجعل المواطن مؤهلًا للتبني.
  2. بعد ذلك، يحتاج المواطن إلى تقديم طلب للموافقة بينه وبين طفل في دولة اتفاقية لاهاي المفضلة. سيقوم مسؤولو البلد الأجنبي بعد ذلك بمراجعة المستندات المقدمة، ويتعين على المواطن التحقق من قائمة المتطلبات اللازمة للتقديم. ستحتاج أيضًا إلى موافقة USCIS والأطفال المقترحون الذين يستوفون معايير الأهلية. سيكون لكل طفل ملف يحتوي على معلومات الخلفية، والاحتياجات الطبية، والخاصة ونماذج الموافقة من الأطراف الضرورية.
  3. ثالثًا، يجب على المواطن تقديم عريضة لتصنيف مُتبني الاتفاقية كقريب مباشر، أو يُعرف باسم نموذج I-800، لتحديد ما إذا كانت أهلية الطفل كمتبني ضمن الاتفاقية. يقوم المواطن الأمريكي (الوالد بالتبني) بتقديم عريضة لإنهاء عملية هجرة الطفل الذي يقيم عادةً في بلد الاتفاقية. كذلك، يحتاج المواطن الأمريكي إلى إثبات أنه لم يحصل بعد على وصاية الطفل الذي يمنع أي مواطن أمريكي من الحصول على الحضانة أو تبني أطفال غير مؤهلين للهجرة.
  4. بعد الموافقة على النماذج، يمكن تقديم طلب تأشيرة الولايات المتحدة للطفل الذي تنوي تبنيه من خلال إرسال نموذج DS-260 للولايات المتحدة أو طلب تأشيرة الهجرة عبر الإنترنت إلى سفارة أو قنصلية الولايات المتحدة في البلد الأجنبي حيث سيتم تبني الطفل. سيحتاج DS-260 إلى المعلومات الأساسية للطفل والتفاصيل الأخرى ذات الصلة. يتم تقديم النموذج عبر الإنترنت، وبعد ذلك، سوف يحصل المواطن على جواب تأكيد ورقم.
  5. إذا تم تنفيذ كل شيء بالترتيب المطلوب ، فستصدر السفارة أو القنصلية خطابًا يسمى "خطاب المادة 5/17" ، لإخطار السلطة المركزية لبلد الطفل الأصلي بأنه يبدو أن الطفل "مؤهل للإقامة الدائمة" "في الولايات المتحدة بعد إتمام عملية التبني أو الوصاية في بلد منشأ الطفل. في هذه المرحلة ، سمحت بعد ذلك بالحصول على أمر وصاية للطفل. يجب أن يبدأ تبني الطفل بإحضار الطفل إلى الولايات المتحدة بدلاً من تبني الطفل في بلد أجنبي كما هو منصوص عليه في إرشادات تأشيرة الولايات المتحدة IR-4. تأشيرة الولايات المتحدة IR-3 مخصصة لتبني الطفل في بلد إقامتهم
  6. المستندات الداعمة مثل شهادة ميلاد الطفل، وجواز السفر، والمستندات الطبية وغيرها، مطلوب تقديمها إلى السفارة أو القنصلية الأمريكية للحصول على أمر الوصاية. أخيرًا، يلزم تحديد موعد للمقابلة وحضورها في السفارة الأمريكية، حيث سيتعين على المواطن تقديم طلب الوصاية النهائية إلى المسؤولين لاستكمال الطلب، وبعدها، ستحدد السفارة الأمريكية ما إذا كانت ستعطي تأشيرة IR-4 للطفل أم لا.

 

إجراءات الطلب من بلد خارج اتفاقية لاهاي

 

بالنسبة للبلدان خارج اتفاقية لاهاي، توجد إجراءات أخرى للطلب على النحو التالي:

 

  1. يجب اختيار مركز للتبني في البلد الذي يريد فيه المواطن أمريكي تبني الطفل. يحتاج المواطنون الأمريكيون إلى اتخاذ قراراتهم الخاصة بشأن المركز الذي يختارونه لأنهم لن يحصلوا على أي توصيات بشأن المراكز المعتمدة في الولايات المتحدة.
  2. يحتاج المواطن إلى تقديم طلب معالجة عريضة اليتيم أو المعروف باسم نموذج I-600A إلى USCIS. هذا النموذج، وكذلك نتائج فحص الخلفية، وبصمات الأصابع والدراسة المنزلية، ستحدد أهليتك لتبني طفل من بلد أجنبي. نظرًا لأن هذا لدولة خارج اتفاقية لاهاي، فلن تقدم دائرة خدمات المواطنة والهجرة الأمريكية أي توصيات بشأن تصنيف الطفل.
  3. يجب تلبية متطلبات الدولة المحددة عند الحصول على أمر الوصاية حيث تخطط لتبني الطفل، لا سيما عندما يتعلق الأمر بالحصول على المستندات الداعمة والإجراءات التي يتم إتباعها.
  4. يحتاج المواطنون الأمريكيون إلى تقديم عريضة لتصنيف الطفل اليتيم على أنه قريب مباشر إلى USCIS أو يُعرف بنموذج I-600، من أجل تصنيف يتيم، مقيم في بلد خارج اتفاقية لاهاي، والذي يتم تبنيه من قبل مواطن أمريكي، كقريب مباشر، للسماح للطفل بدخول الولايات المتحدة. يجب تقديم المستندات الداعمة التالية:
    1. شهادة ميلاد الطفل أو شرح كتابي عن هوية وعمر الطفل
    2. دليل على أن الطفل ليس لديه أبوين أو أن الوالدين البيولوجيين وافقوا على التبني لأنهم غير قادرين على توفير الرعاية المناسبة
    3. إثبات أنك حصلت على وصاية الطفل وتعتزم إكمال إجراءات التبني بمجرد وصول الطفل إلى الولايات المتحدة
    4. ستقوم USCIS أو مسؤول القنصلية في البلد الذي تتبنى الطفل منه، باستكمال نموذج I-604. إذا تمت الموافقة على النموذج، فسيقوم المركز الوطني للتأشيرات (NVC) بإخطارك بالخطوات التالية التي يجب عليك اتخاذها.
    5. قم بإرسال طلب تأشيرة IR-4 عن طريق تقديم نموذج DS-260، طلب تأشيرة الهجرة عبر الإنترنت وكذلك حدد موعد مقابلة التأشيرة. في المقابلة، قدم الملفات والوثائق الكاملة لتبني الطفل.

 

ما هي رسوم تأشيرة IR-4 الأمريكية؟

 

يجب على المرء دفع الرسوم بناءً على الطلب الذي اتبعه الشخص بالإضافة إلى تكاليف الدعم المرتبطة بكل إجراء محدد. دائرة خدمات المواطنة والهجرة الأمريكية هي التي تحدد المبالغ، وهي:

 

  • رسم ملء وتقديم نموذج I-800A
  • رسوم ملء وتقديم نموذج I- 800
  • رسوم معالجة نموذج DS-260
  • رسم ملء وتقديم نموذج I-600A
  • رسوم ملء وتقديم نموذج I- 600
  • رسوم الترجمة
  • تكاليف الحصول على المستندات الداعمة

 

ما المدة التي تستغرقها عملية معالجة تأشيرة IR-4؟

 

لا يوجد إطار زمني محدد لمعالجة طلب تأشيرة IR-4 للولايات المتحدة، نظرًا لأن USCIS لا تحدد وقت محدد. يعتمد زمن المعالجة أيضًا على المدة التي يستغرقها المواطن للحصول على وصاية الطفل في البلد الأجنبي التي يقوم الفرد فيها بالتبني. على الرغم من عدم وجود إطار زمني محدد، يتم تقدير المدة من حوالي 6 أشهر إلى سنة، حيث يُسمح للمواطن بإحضار الطفل إلى الولايات المتحدة عند الموافقة على الطلب. ثم يجب اتباع الإجراءات الأخرى لاستكمال طلب التبني.

There are different types of U.S. immigrant visas and one of which is the Immediate Relative Visa category. Its categories are:

In non-technical language, immediate relatives would only be spouses, biological or adopted children, and parents. Grandparents, uncles, or aunts are already considered to be one’s extended family and therefore, do not qualify as immediate relatives.

This article will cover the IR-4 US Visa, what it is, requirements and application processes, and other essential details.

What Is an IR-4 US Visa?

A U.S. citizen can be able to adopt a child from any outside country and a way to do that, the child must have a valid immigrant US Visa to reside in the U.S. with his/her adoptive parents. U.S. immigrant visas have several types, which would enable the U.S citizen to adopt, and the principal ones are the IR-4 and the IR-3 US Visa.

The IR-4 US Visa enables parents to secure custody of the child in a different country and take the child into the U.S to finish the adoption process while the IR-3 US Visa allows the parents from the U.S to complete the adoption process in a different country before the child can get his/her US Visa.

The advantages of having an IR-4 US Visa:
  • It permits the parents to take the child to the U.S with complete adoption
  • The child can then settle in the U.S legally
  • The child can enroll in school and when able, can start working without the need for an Employment Authorization Document (EAD). When eligible, the child can also petition for a U.S citizenship.

Overall, IR-4 US Visas are more convenient since those who have appealed can complete the process much quicker and do not have a yearly limit or size on the number of US Visas published.

How Does One Qualify for the IR-4 US VISA?

In the U.S., intercountry adoptions or adoptions from other countries are divided into two types that rely upon the timescale where the child was adopted. The two (2) categories of adoptions are:

  • Non-Hague country adoptions
  • Hague country convention adoptions

The Hague Adoption Convention was developed in 1993 and put into motion in 1995, with specified rules and regulations about intercountry adoption to safeguard children in the international adoption process.


Application procedures would change depending on whether the U.S citizen adopts the child from a Hague Convention Country or a Non-Hague Convention Country.

The treaty has been signed by 88 countries all over the world, including the United States in 2008. Though it may apply to some countries, please take note that there are still countries that prohibit intercountry adoptions due to political reasons as specified by countries in bold.

Hague Convention Countries
Albania Cote d’Ivoire Haiti Mexico Seychelles
Andorra Costa Rica Hungary Moldova Slovakia
Armenia Croatia Iceland Monaco Slovenia
Australia Cuba India Mongolia South Africa
Austria Cyprus Ireland Montenegro Spain
Azerbaijan Czech Republic Israel Namibia Sri Lanka
Belarus Denmark Italy Netherlands Swaziland
Belgium Dominican Republic Kazakhstan New Zealand Sweden
Belize Ecuador Kenya Norway Switzerland
Bolivia El Salvador Kyrgyzstan Panama Thailand
Brazil Estonia Latvia Paraguay Togo
Bulgaria Fiji Lesotho Peru Turkey
Burkina Faso Finland Liechtenstein Philippines United Kingdom
Burundi France Lithuania Poland Uruguay
Cambodia Georgia Luxembourg Portugal Venezuela
Canada Germany Macedonia Romania Vietnam
Cape Verde Ghana Madagascar Rwanda Zambia
Chile Greece Mali San Marino
China Guatemala Malta Senegal
Colombia Guinea Mauritius Serbia

 

Adoptions from any other countries besides those listed from the Hague Convention means that the U.S citizen is adopting outside the laws and other ordinances and application procedures will apply that is solely for the Non-Hague country adoptions only.

What Are the Necessities of Acquiring the IR-4 US Visa?

To be qualified for the IR-4 US visa, one must meet the specific requirements for both the child from the outside country being adopted and the adoptive parents who are U.S citizens. These requirements are as follows:

  • A child must meet the adoption guidelines from the U.S Immigration and Nationality Act (INA)
  • The child needs to be under 21 years of age and unmarried
  • The child must be of both a Hague or Non-Hague Convention Country
  • The U.S citizens must be responsible for obtaining custody or guardianship of the child in the foreign country and then adopt in the U.S
  • The U.S citizens intend to bring the adopted child to the U.S to reside with them
  • The U.S citizens must pass an eligibility test by the U.S Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)
  • The U.S citizens must have a valid U.S address or residence

If U.S citizens plan in adopting the child while in a foreign country, then one needs to apply for the IR-3 visa. Lastly, if U.S citizens have fostered the child and resided in a foreign country with the child for at least two years, then they are qualified to apply for an IR-2 visa.

Hague County Convention vs. Non-Hague Convention Application Procedures.

Since intercountry adoptions in the U.S. has two categories or divided into two for the IR-4 US Visa, one must bear in mind that there are also two different procedures to follow to ensure proper guidelines.

Hague Country Convention Application Procedures

Overview

A US citizen will need to choose between the US Accredited or from an Approved Adoption Service Provider to adopt from Hagues Convention Countries.

  1. First, a citizen needs to file the Application for Determination of Suitability to Adopt a Child from a Convention Country Form or known shortly as “Form I-800A.” The USCIS will check the submitted form by performing a background and fingerprint check and home study. The results will then determine the number of children that the citizen is allowed to adopt including on the specific range of ages recommended for adoption. In addition to the age range and the particular number of children for adoption, the form would also determine if a citizen is allowed to adopt a child with special needs. Once the form is approved, this will make the citizen eligible for adoption.
  2. Next, the citizen needs to appeal to be paired with a child in the preferred Hague Convention Country. The officials of the foreign country will then review the submitted documents, and the citizen is required to check in for a list of requirements that needed for submission. It will also need the USCIS approval and the suggested children that meet the eligibility standards. Every child will have a file containing their background knowledge, medical and special needs, and consent forms from the necessary parties.
  3. Thirdly, a citizen must file the Petition to Classify Convention Adoptee as an Immediate Relative or otherwise known as the Form I-800 to determine if the child’s eligibility as a Convention adoptee. The U.S. citizen prospective adoptive parent files the petition to finalize the immigration process of a child who habitually resides in a Convention country. Also, the US citizen needs to prove that they have yet to gain guardianship of the child preventing any U.S citizen from obtaining custody or adopting children who are not eligible to immigrate.
  4. After the approval of the forms, the US Visa application for the child you intend to adopt can comply through U.S. Submit Form DS-260 or the Online Immigrant Visa Application to the U.S Embassy or Consulate of the foreign country from where the child will be adopted. The DS-260 will need the background information of the child and other pertinent details. The form is submitted online, and after which, the citizen will get a confirmation letter and number.
  5. If everything has been done in the required order, the Embassy or Consulate will issue a letter, called the “Article 5/17 letter”, notifying the central authority of the child’s country of origin that the child appears to be “eligible to permanently reside” in the United States following the completion of the adoption or guardianship in the child’s country of origin. At this point, you then allowed in getting a guardianship order for the child. Adoption of a child must begin by bringing the child to the U.S instead of adopting the child in a foreign country as stipulated in the IR-4 US Visa guidelines. The IR-3 US Visa is for adopting the child in their country of residence
  6. Supporting documents like the child’s birth certificate, passport, medical documents, etc. are required for submission to the U.S Embassy or Consulate in obtaining the guardianship order. Lastly, an interview needed to be scheduled and attended at the U.S. Embassy in which the citizen will need to present the final guardianship order to the officials to have the application completed in which point, the U.S Embassy will determine whether to give the IR-4 visa to the child or not.

Non-Hague Convention Application Procedures

For the Non-Hague Convention countries, there are other application procedures as follows:

  1. An adoption center needs to be chosen in the country where a US citizen wants to adopt the child. US citizens need to make their own decisions on which ones to pick since they won’t be getting any recommendations on the US approved centers.
  2. A citizen needs to file the Application for Advanced Processing of an Orphan Petition or known as File Form I-600A to the USCIS. This form as well as the results of the background and fingerprint check, and the home study will determine your eligibility to adopt a child from a foreign country. Since this is for Non-Hague Convention Application, USCIS will not make any recommendations on the child’s classification.
  3. Requirements must be met of the particular country when obtaining a guardianship order where you plan to adopt the child, especially when it involves acquiring the supporting documents and the procedures that follow.
  4. US Citizens need to file the Petition to Classify Orphan as an Immediate Relative to USCIS or known as form I-600 in order to classify an orphan, habitually resident in a non-Hague Convention country, who is or will be adopted by a U.S. citizen, as an immediate relative to allow the child to enter the United States. The following supporting documents must be submitted:
    1. Child’s birth certificate or written explanation about the identity and age of the child
    2. Evidence that the child does not have parents or that the biological parents consented to adoption because they are unable to provide proper care
    3. Proof that you have obtained guardianship of the child and you intend to complete adoption procedures once the child arrives in the U.S
    4. USCIS or a Consular Officer in the country you are adopting the child from will complete and approve Form I-604. If the form has been approved, the National Visa Center (NVC) will notify you of the next steps you must take.
    5. Submit the IR-4 visa application by filing Form DS-260, Online Immigrant Visa Application as well as schedule your visa interview. At the meeting, provide your complete file of documents for the child’s adoption.

What are the IR-4 US Visa Fees?

One must pay the charges depending on the application a person has followed in addition to the supporting costs associated with each specific procedure. The USCIS determines the amounts, which are:

  • Form I-800A filing fee
  • Form I-800 filing fee
  • Form DS-260 processing fees
  • Form I-600A filing fee
  • Form I-600 filing fee
  • Translation fees
  • Costs to obtain supporting documents

How Long Is the IR-4 Visa Processing Time?

There is no definite timeframe for processing the application for the IR-4 US Visa since the USCIS does not give any. The timescale would also depend on the period it would take for a citizen to achieve guardianship of the child in a foreign country where one proposes to adopt. Even though there is no specific timeframe, an estimate of 6 months to a year is given, in which the citizen would be allowed to bring the child to the US when the application is approved. Other procedures must then be followed in order to complete the adoption application.